Documents

Filtrer
Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".

La Cour européenne des droits de l'Homme (Cour européenne) a récemment mis en évidence une décision importante concernant l'admission des enfants dans le cas de Sen c. Pays-Bas. Selon la façon dont on interprète cette décision, cela pourrait signifier un changement significatif par rapport aux décisions antérieures que la Cour européenne a prises sur cette question.

Dans ce chapitre, je vais donner un bref survol des changements normatifs qui ont eu lieu aux Pays-Bas au cours de la seconde moitié du XXe siècle. Je vais évaluer ces changements aux développements qui ont eu lieu, au cours de la même période, à la régulation de la migration familiale aux Pays-Bas. Ensuite, je vais explorer la façon dont le régime de la migration familiale qui a pris forme à la fin du XXe siècle se rapporte à un nouveau contexte de la mondialisation comme théorisé par, entre autres, Sassen. Enfin, je vais questionner si et dans quelle mesure l'héritage raciste du passé colonial néerlandais se répercutent dans le contexte actuel.

While families all over the world enlist the help of family, friends, or paid day care for their children, the need to do so is especially strong for individual women (single or divorced) who work outside the home to earn a living. Women who migrate for work in another country, in search of better pay, may need to have children stay in the homes of others in the country of origin. That "good mothering" may take many forms was not initially recognized under Dutch immigration law. The approach in the Netherlands eventually brbought it into conflict with European human rights law and with the merging immigration law of the European Union (EU).

Les politiques d'immigration et les politiques concernant l'intégration des minorités ethniques dans la société néerlandaise ont été sur l'ordre du jour politique néerlandais durant les dernières décennies. Récemment, cependant, ces débats ont reçu une nouvelle impulsion suite à la publication d'un article de journal par un membre éminent du parti travailliste néerlandais, Paul Scheffer. Dans ce chapitre, je replaceles développements récents dans les politiques de regroupement familial néerlandais sur le fond de ces débats actuels sur l'immigration, l'intégration et la culture néerlandaise traditionnelle - et en particulier, les normes de la famille néerlandaise.

La migration de mariage est une question controversée et problématique au Royaume-Uni comme ailleurs en Europe. Cette analyse périodique est un examen complet de la régulation de la migration de mariage au Royaume-Uni.

Ce chapitre examine les circonstances dans lesquelles un mariage impliquant un conjoint migrant hors-EEA est désigné comme un simulacre de mariage afin que les droits de séjour soient refusés. Il analyse les problèmes de compréhension et de définition d’un faux mariage et fait valoir que les contrôles sur les mariages fictifs régulent souvent un plus large éventail de mariages que ceux conclus dans le seul but d'obtenir des droits de résidence.

Ce chapitre analyse les politiques de migration de la famille du nouveau gouvernement travailliste de 1997 à 2010 dans le cadre de sa politique de migration en général. Il soutient que la politique était souvent le résultat d'un ensemble de pressions contradictoires. La régulation de la migration familiale partage souvent les mêmes caractéristiques que la politique d'immigration dans son ensemble: un vernis de cohérence masque les efforts pour satisfaire une multiplicité d'intérêts et de forces. Au même moment, alors que le gouvernement a aligné sa politique dans le même sens que celles des autres États européens, une certaine retenue est perceptible lors de la comparaison à d’autres politiques.

Ce chapitre analyse l'évolution de la réglementation au Royaume-Uni des mariages transnationaux depuis qu'ils sont devenus une question de premier plan dans les années 1960. Il emploie les récentes définitions de la «frontière» afin de faire valoir que la réglementation coïncidait initialement avec la frontière géographique avant d'être exporté par l'établissement de l'externalisation des frontières.

Cet article examine le traitement des «mariages de complaisance» ou «mariages blancs» en droit de l'immigration au Royaume-Uni. Ces mesures impliquent inévitablement un degré de barrière morale et culturelle, les décideurs étant tenus de comparer le simulacre de mariage présumée contre le modèle d'une relation «authentique». Cependant, le document fait valoir que la fonction de ces mesures a souvent été de renforcer la capacité d'exclure ou supprimer immigrants indésirables.

À une époque où les questions relatives à la migration et à la formation de communautés diasporiques en sont venus à être critique pour tous les systèmes juridiques européens, ce volume reflète, discute et analyse les questions soulevées par les diasporas qui se sont établis en Europe depuis plus de cinquante ans d'immigration et les défis à relever par les systèmes juridiques à la lumière de la migration continue.

Although gender offers valuable perspectives for understanding migration law, masculinity has received little attention. In family migration, men are generally regarded as economic agents and family as marginal to their lives, a view that is difficult to dislodge because it serves the purposes of governments anxious to reduce unwanted immigration. In British immigration law, measures have often explicitly or implicitly relied on such gender-based assumptions.

Ce numéro spécial vise à étendre la discussion sur la migration et le sexe en explorant les façons dont les expériences sexospécifiques des hommes de la migration restent marginalisés.

Cet article analyse les aspects clés de la régulation d'entrée et de séjour des conjoints migrants en provenance des États de l'EEE. Il démontre qu'il y a des différences de régulation, particulière entre les États d'Europe de l'Est et du Sud par rapport aux États de l'Ouest et du Nord de l'Europe, mais, dans la majorité des cas, le nombre de différence est limité. L'article connecte cette "ressemblance familiale" au concept plus large d'européanisation. Même là où il n'y a pas d'obligation légale, les normes légales européennes et la pratique dans d'autres États européens circonscrivent ce qui est possible. 

Le Danemark a la réputation d'avoir les contrôles les plus restrictifs d’Europe au niveau de l'immigration familiale, et, bien que leur pleine rigueur a récemment légèrement diminué, le régime danois a été cité par les représentants de la coalition gouvernementale comme un modèle à suivre pour le Royaume-Uni. Cet article analyse les règles danoises pour admettre les conjoints et les partenaires des citoyens et des résidents permanents. Il décrit la nature du régime, puis examine les facteurs qui ont conduit à l'état actuel des choses. Il conclut en considérant brièvement les problèmes potentiels à la mise en œuvre d’un régime de syle danois au Royaume-Uni.

Cet article traite de dix cas de migration familiale qui furent décidées par la Chambre des lords ou la Cour suprême («la Cour») en commençant par Huang en 2007 et se terminant avec Quila en 2011. Il soutient qu'ils incarnent collectivement un ensemble de principes sur la relation entre le contrôle de l'immigration, les tribunaux et la vie familiale des migrants qui ont permit aux liens affectifs des migrants et de leurs familles de recevoir, pour la première fois, une reconnaissance appropriée devant les tribunaux.

Pages

Documents

Filter
Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".

This book places family migration policies in the broader perspective of changing family norms. In doing so, it shows the added value of studying immigration law not as an isolated field, but in connection with other fields of law and policy. Taking the Netherlands as an example, it shows how family migration policies have evolved from a system premised on the male breadwinner-citizen’s right to domicile, to one granting and restricting freedom of movement according to individual merit.

This book examines immigration law from a gender perspective. It shows how immigration law situates gender conflicts outside the national order, projecting them onto non-western countries, exotic cultures, clandestine labour and criminal organizations.

The European Court on Human Rights (European Court) has recently brought out an important decision regarding the admission of children in the case of Sen v. the Netherlands. Depending on how one interprets this decision, it could mean a significant shift from earlier decisions that the European Court has taken on this issue. 

In this chapter, I shall give a brief account of the normative changes that have taken place in the Netherlands in the course of the second half of the twentieth century. I shall relate these changes to developments that have taken place, during the same period, in the regulation of family migration to the Netherlands. Next, I shall explore how the family migration regime that has taken shape at the end of the twentieth century relates to an emerging context of globalisation as theorised by, among others, Sassen. Finally, I shall question if and to what extent the racist legacy of the Dutch colonial past does indeed reverberate in the present-day context. 

While families all over the world enlist the help of family, friends, or paid day care for their children, the need to do so is especially strong for individual women (single or divorced) who work outside the home to earn a living. Women who migrate for work in another country, in search of better pay, may need to have children stay in the homes of others in the country of origin. That "good mothering" may take many forms was not initially recognized under Dutch immigration law. The approach in the Netherlands eventually brbought it into conflict with European human rights law and with the merging immigration law of the European Union (EU).

Immigration policies and policies regarding the integration of ethnic minorities into Dutch society have been on the Dutch political agenda for the past decades. Recently, however, these debates received a new impulse from the publication of a newspaper article by a prominent member of the Dutch Labor party, Paul Scheffer. In this chapter I wish to place recent developments in Dutch family reunification policies against the background of these current debates on immigration, integration, and traditional Dutch culture - and in particular, Dutch family norms. 

Marriage migration is a controversial and problematic issue in the UK as elsewhere in Europe. This timely analysis is a comprehensive examination of the regulation of marriage migration into the UK.

This chapter investigates the circumstances in which a marriage involving a non- EEA migrant spouse is designated a sham marriage so that residence rights are refused. It analyses the problems of understanding and defining a sham marriage and argues that controls over sham marriages often regulate a much wider range of marriages than those entered for the sole purpose of obtaining residence rights.

This chapter analyses the family migration policies of the New Labour government of 1997-2010 in the context of its migration policy generally. It argues that policy was often the outcome of a conflicting set of pressures. Regulation of family migration often appeared to share the same characteristics as immigration policy as a whole: a veneer of coherence concealed efforts to satisfy a multiplicity of interests and forces. At the same time, while the government moved policy in the same direction as its European neighbours, comparatively speaking it showed some restraint.

This chapter analyses the evolution of regulation in the UK of transnational marriages since they first became a prominent issue in the 1960s. It employs recent understandings of the ‘border’ to argue that regulation initially coincided with the geographical border before being exported through the establishment of compulsory entrance clearance. 

This paper considers the treatment of ‘marriages of convenience’ or ‘sham marriages’ in UK immigration law. Such measures inevitably involve a degree of moral and cultural gate-keeping as decision-makers are obliged to measure the alleged sham marriage against the template of a ‘genuine’ relationship. However, the paper argues that the function of such measures has often been to enhance the ability to exclude or remove unwanted immigrants.

At a time when issues concerning migration and the formation of diasporic communities have come to be critical for all European legal systems, this volume reflects, discusses and analyzes the questions raised by diasporas who have established themselves in Europe over more than fifty years of immigration and the challenges faced by legal systems in the light of continued migration.

Although gender offers valuable perspectives for understanding migration law, masculinity has received little attention. In family migration, men are generally regarded as economic agents and family as marginal to their lives, a view that is difficult to dislodge because it serves the purposes of governments anxious to reduce unwanted immigration. In British immigration law, measures have often explicitly or implicitly relied on such gender-based assumptions.

This special issue seeks to extend the discussion of migration and gender by exploring the ways in which men’s gendered experiences of migration remain marginalized.

This article analyses key aspects of the regulation of entry and stay of spousal migrants in eea member states. It shows that there are differences of regulation, particularly between states in Eastern and Southern Europe and states in Northern and Western Europe but, in most cases, the amount of divergence is limited. The article connects this ‘family resemblance’ to a broad concept of Europeanisation. Even where there is no binding legal obligation, European legal norms and the practice in other European states largely circumscribe what is possible.

Pages