Heteronormativity and Immigration Scholarship: A Call for Change

  • États-Unis

Heteronormativity and Immigration Scholarship: A Call for Change

Type de ressource: 

Les politiques et pratiques hétéronormatives - qui subordinnent les immigrants non seulement sur le plan de l'orientation sexuelle, mais également sur les plans du genre, de la race, de la classe et de l'identité culturelle qui peuvent mener à des actes sexuels ou des conclusions "indésirables" (tel que "trop" d'enfants pauvres) - sont déployées par l'État pour sélectionner qui peut entrer légalement aux États-Unis et pour incorporer les immigrants dans les identités et projets hégémoniques nationalistes. La sexualité, de façon plus générique, structure également tous les aspects de l'expérience des immigrants. Malgré cela, le savoir sur l'immigration ignore toujours les connexions entre l'hétéronormativité, la sexualité et l'immigration.

Cette occlusion devient claire lorsque l'on regarde les écrits sur le genre et l'immigration. D'un côté, ces écrits offrent d'importants outils de réflexion sur la sexualité et l'immigration. De l'autre côté, ils démontrent comment les analyses centrées sur le genre réinscrivent souvent l'hétéronormativité, supportant l'affirmation d'Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick's contention qui présente que "the question of gender and the question of sexuality, inextricable from one another though they are in that each can be expressed only in terms of the other, are nonetheless not the same question."

Malgré tout, quelques incursions ont été faites. Dans sa critique classique, Silvia Pedraza soulève quatre champs principaux au sein desquels les recherches sur les femmes et l'immigration a prospéré. Ces champs traitent (1) de comment le genre est relié à la décision de migrer et organise les processus de migration; (2) de comment le genre façonne le processus d'établissement; (3) de comment les femmes et les hommes migrants sont incorporés dans le marché du travail; et (4) de comment la migration affecte les relations de genre. Ces questions peuvent être transférées au domaine de la sexualité et de l'immigration afin d'évaluer ce que l'on sait et ce que l'on ne sait pas sur la sexualité et les processus d'immigration de même que pour démontrer comment l'attention portée sur la sexualité nécessite la révision de ces questions qui sont normalement posées en lien au genre. Comme la littérature sur le genre et l'immigration, qui a commencé par considérer les femmes pour ensuite adressé la question du genre plus généralement, je commencerai par discuter de l'expérience lesbienne et gay pour ensuite considérer la sexualité plus généralement. 

Acheter l'article

  • Eithne Luibhéid. “Heteronormativity in Immigration Scholarship: A Call for Change,” GLQ Vol. 10, No. 2, (March 2004), pp.227-235. Invited.

Heteronormativity and Immigration Scholarship: A Call for Change

  • United States

Heteronormativity and Immigration Scholarship: A Call for Change

Type de ressource: 

Heteronormative policies and practices—which subordinate immigrants not just on grounds of sexual orientation but also on grounds of gender, racial, class, and cultural identities that may result in "undesirable" sexual acts or outcomes (such as "too many" poor children)—are deployed by the state to select who may legally enter the United States and to incorporate immigrants into hegemonic nationalist identities and projects. Sexuality more generally also structures every aspect of immigrant experiences. Yet immigration scholarship virtually ignores the connections among heteronormativity, sexuality, and immigration.

This occlusion becomes clear when we turn to the writings on gender and immigration. On the one hand, these writings offer valuable tools for thinking about sexuality and immigration; on the other, they show how gender-centered analyses often reinscribe heteronormativity, thus affirming Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick's contention that "the question of gender and the question of sexuality, inextricable from one another though they are in that each can be expressed only in terms of the other, are nonetheless not the same question."

Yet some inroads have been made. In her classic review Silvia Pedraza mentions four main areas in which research on women and immigration (and, ultimately, on gender and immigration) have flourished. These areas address (1) how gender is related to the decision to migrate and organizes migration processes; (2) how gender shapes processes of settlement; (3) how immigrant women and men are incorporated into the labor market; and (4) how migration alters gender relations. These questions can be usefully transferred to the realm of sexuality and immigration to assess what we do and do not know about sexuality and immigration processes and also to show how attention to sexuality requires revision of these questions, which are normed around gender. Like gender and immigration scholarship, which began by considering "women" and then addressed gender more generally, I begin by discussing lesbian and gay experiences and then considering sexuality more generally.

Buy full article

  • Eithne Luibhéid. “Heteronormativity in Immigration Scholarship: A Call for Change,” GLQ Vol. 10, No. 2, (March 2004), pp.227-235. Invited.